Posted by: Meagan | September 5, 2012

Finish it Friday: The Plant That Wouldn’t Die

So quite a while ago, you may recall, I posted about a dumb aloe plant that refused to either thrive or die and I vowed come spring I would toss it out in the trash. I put it off for YEARS! I cared for that plant, gave it a lot of water, not a lot of water. I would keep it in the sunny window only to see it shrivel, then I would neglect it and it would thrive, and then it would stop thriving. Then I learned that real aloe plants stink. And it made me feel nauseous using it on my sunburn that one time. And I felt guilty, you shouldn’t throw away a living thing, but eventually I began to hate that aloe in its ugly orange pot and so I decided to throw it away. However, it just so happened that it was cold and I didn’t want to walk across the entire backyard all the way to the compost pile so I figured I’d toss it when it warmed up. Well, enter morning sickness and then terrible ligament pain and I kept putting it off, which is great for a local lady that I gave a shoot of the aloe to (unless it is like it’s mother plant and is kind of horrible in the way of aloes). Today, finally, there were indoor plants at Walmart and so I tossed out the aloe and the pot it was in, and replaced it with a (lined) basket and three plants. I’m kind of loving the change myself.

The Aloe

At least I put it in the compost instead of the trash! It will go back to mother earth and be useful for once!

The Replacements

For those interested, there is Ivy, Marginata Bush and a Bromeliad.

Not quite what I had in mind, but there wasn’t exactly a wonderful selection.

The ivy should spill over the front of the basket at it grows, I wont lie, I am really excited for that. And yes, I know, we have a tiny TV. Our five year old keeps telling us how small it is and how he wants a big TV. Maybe someday. So yes! I can cross that ugly aloe off my to-do list!

Responses

  1. Way to throw it out! I have such a non green thumb, it’s not even funny. But on a side note, we had live plants for centerpieces at our wedding reception and we gave them all away, except one that we kept that died within weeks of course. Anyway, my sister-in-law still has hers and it’s still alive! After 7 1/2 years in the same pot. It amazes me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

