Posted by: Meagan | November 19, 2012

WIP: Heritage Quilt Update

Some of you may remember that I have been talking to and working with my aunts and other female relatives on making a heritage quilt. I have forever been surrounded by guys and I really wanted something to help represent the women in my family even though I don’t live by any of them. So almost all of my aunts, my grandma, mom, and sister in law are all making one quilt block and sending it to me, I will then put them all together in one big quilt.

When I get one in the mail I get so excited, it’s like Christmas! So far I’ve received three quilt blocks and I wanted to share them with ya’ll since they bring me so much joy! I am so impressed with these women, their talent, and willingness to do this project, I had no idea that so many of them would be willing to participate. Thank you ladies!

My Grandma’s block represents a flower since she loves gardening and her flowers:

My Aunt Mary’s block, the small hearts represent her and the daughters who helped her sew it. The big heart in the middle represents their love for me, which I think is really sweet.

My sister in law Tammy’s block represents the US flag, which makes sense because my brother is in the Marine CORPS and we are a very patriotic family.

Now I’ve changed my idea for the extra blocks to make this a large quilt, I think I want to do this quilt block around the outside of the quilt, signifying how we are all linked together.

I found the chain block in this book Shape Workshop for Quilters, and I am really loving how the book breaks down the patterns.

Unfortunately I have no idea what I am going to do for my quilt block. Hmmm. I asked that my awesome relatives just send me their blocks by March 2013, so I will be updating periodically and hopefully by March I’ll also have my quilt block finished!

Responses

  1. This sounds like such an awesome idea Meagan! Now I want to do something like this. I don’t know if it’s just me though, but the pictures aren’t showing up in this post for me. They are fine in other posts, but I can’t see a thing in this one. I’ll have to check back later.

  2. Never mind, they showed up now. Very cool!

  3. Hey! Have you received any more blocks? Hope things are going well. Waiting for a new post…hehehe ;)

  4. […] it’s about time for another Heritage Quilt Update! (You can find update #1 here, and my original post here.) The quilt is coming along really well! I have almost received all the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

