Posted by: Meagan | May 16, 2013

WIP: Ruffled Skirt

skirt 2

(picture from Creative Spaces blog)

I came across a skirt tutorial on Pinterest from Creative Spaces, pinned it and moved on until I was in serious need of a skirt and then I rushed back to my sewing board on Pinterest and breathed a sigh of relieve followed by great feelings of anxiety. I have never sewed a skirt before, I’ve never sewed a zipper on a single thing before – AHHHHHH! I then pulled myself together and e-mailed my wonderful friend Mercy, and asked her if she thought this was a skirt I could sew and she responded with a resounding yes and so I emotionally prepped myself and did the following.

1. Got the rest of my outfit together (this skirt is for a wedding)

2. Decided the color fabric I wanted

3. Double and triple checked the blog for measurements

4. Went to the fabric store where I found linen blended fabric 40% off! Woot! Woot!

I then washed it and began working. Everything was going along swimmingly, waist band, zipper even, until I tried it on and found it to be several inches too big in the waist. So I unpicked the seam and zipper, cut the extra inches off and then sewed the zipper on once again and redid the seam. I then measured and machine sewed the hem only to have it gather in a weird way and I then had to unpick the entire hem of the skirt while watching 3 episodes of PSYCH. I just re-pinned the hem once again. Whew!

IMG_2066

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. You are getting ready to move and you are sewing?! You are awesome! I can’t wait to see how it turns out. I love homemade skirts.

  2. Looks really cute! It always takes that long the first time (and the second…by my third I think it was only like 15 minutes faster, then I got better after that) :)Can’t wait to see it!

  3. Well Josie, I HAVE to make a skirt because I couldn’t find one that would work in any of the stores I went to. I am excited to wear my first homemade skirt though!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

