Posted by: Meagan | April 9, 2009

New Vacuum

Can you guess which vacuum is my new one?

Electrolux vs. Eureka

It’s the Electrolux a.k.a the ugly looking one! It is actually pretty old and I bought it refurbished. It is awesome! Why I love Electrolux:

1. Durability. The housekeeping company I work for only uses them, and I talked with my boss Laurie about vacuums. When I got this one she was telling me the sounds to listen for if a belt is loose, but then stopped and said, of coarse it will be several years before you will even need a new belt on that thing.

2.There are 2 motors, one for suction and the other for the beater bar (the bar with the bristles that spins and picks up dirt out of your carpet). I can sweep my tile floor, and then suck up the dirt with just the suction on rather than bend over with a dustpan. Which is great when you’re pregnant and can’t bend over! Using the suction only is great on any hard surface, wood, tile, linoleum, you name it.

3. Ease of changing out bags. You just open the top, by pressing in two buttons, lift out the bag, put in a new one and you’re good to go. They are also HEPPA filters, so I know the bag is holding in all the yuckies. And I do love the bag. My previous was a bag-less, but then all the dust and yuckies are re-exposed when you empty the container. I have an allergy to dust mites so I hated having to empty it out and have an allergy attack!

4. Local Electrolux Dealer. I paid just over $300, for a high-quality vacuum that will go and go, and there is a local repairman I can take it to. No trying to figure out which belt has gotten loose, or just not knowing what I should do with it when it breaks down.

If you are looking for a “new” vacuum check out Electrolux for a new Electrolux or check the yellow pages for a local dealer. You can get a steal with a refurbished, which comes completely cleaned and fixed, with all the attachments, and 5-10 bags.

Bye Bye Eureka!

Out with the Garbage!

Responses

  1. Ah, you finally got it. 🙂 I was actually wondering whatever happened to your quest for your awesome vacuum.

  2. I’m glad to see I am not the only one who gets excited about a vacuum. Only I have a Dyson, which I love by the way, it is bagless, but it has the option of getting around the nasty dust that can creep up from time to time when dumping it out. Anyway, loved the honesty and excitement of the new vacuum, verrrry cute!


Leave a Reply

Categories

