Posted by: Meagan | April 15, 2009

Homemade Seed Starter

You can buy fancy seed starter kit for $25, and a lower end for just $5 at Walmart, but then you don’t have a choice of flowers. Here is an even cheaper way to do your flower garden, or vegetable garden with a do it yourself seed starter.

What you need:
– 2 (paper) egg cartons, I use the 18 count, but you can do more or less, whatever your fancy.
– 1 small bag of soil (97 cents at Walmart)
– Spoon
– Seeds. I found seeds for $1 per packet and 20 cents per packet. Also I was sure to pick flowers that vary in height so I can plant in layers. I also bought perennials so I don’t have to plant every year!
– Spray bottle (optional)

Prep: I soaked my flower seeds for 24 hours before planting. I don’t think this is really necessary, but I heard it helps them sprout quicker.

Soaking the Seeds

1. Empty Egg Cartons.

Empty Egg Carton

2. Rip off the top of the Egg Carton and place under the other half.

Halfed Carton

3. Fill with soil.

Fill Carton with Soil

4. Spread Seeds on soil.

Spread Seeds on Soil

5. Spray with water.

Spray soil

6. Set in sunny spot or window, water (with spray bottle) 2-3 times a day. It only took 4 days for me to see some results! Obviously not all my seeds sprouted in 4 days, but one type did, then 2 days later another kind started, hopefully within the next week all 5 of my flower types will sprout.

4 Days Later

Responses

  1. That’s a great idea. I got a $6 kit at Walmart. My problem is that they grew MUCH faster than I anticipated and it keeps snowing here. I had to transplant them into bigger pots. 🙂

  2. […] Some Green.  This is the time of year to start some seeds for those herbs and plants that you want to see growing in the summer.  Head to your local hardware […]

  3. Does it have to be cardboard? Could it be styrofoam egg cartons? If I do use them, do I have to concern my self with the chemicals from the styrofoam leaking into the plants?

    • I don’t think it would matter much, you would have to be more careful not to over-water as the Styrofoam would hold the water in. Also Styrofoam isn’t biodegradable so I wouldn’t plant it with your flower/plant or compost it after.


Leave a Reply

Categories

