Posted by: Meagan | April 18, 2009

Stuck in a Rut

It seems like I have been stuck in a rut for a while now. I mean I remember being motivated. In college I would not go to bed the first night until I had unpacked everything, and everything was in it’s place. We have been in our new house for 2 weeks and I still haven’t finished painting, things are definitely not unpacked and the hall bathroom still needs a good scrub.

To be completely honest I’ve been stuck in a rut much longer than 2 weeks, it’s been a while and I desperately want to bust out of it, but haven’t been able to. If you Google “stuck in a rut” you’ll get 10 pages of results, motivational things dominate the pages but towards the end you get into bands and things. Examples of what those articles say to do: conscious breathing techniques, try something new, get outside, pamper yourself, clean out the clutter, make manageable goals, exercise, be social, meditate and on and on.

My lack of motivation is affecting the unpacking. I am still doing it, very slowly and I am clearing out clutter. Although cleaning out stuff we don’t use does make me happy, I still feel like I’m in a rut. I don’t feel pumped to finish unpacking or even taking those things to a charity/having a garage sale. I’ve tried thinking of new dinner ideas, I made a new friend, I do a lot of activities with my son, however, that creative/fun side has still gone into hibernation. I can’t decide where to hang decorations, if we should hang on to certain items or garage sale them… Also, I don’t care to find the rest of my kitchen towels/washcloths, my husband is the one who became fed up and searched out our kitchen knife set (thank you honey.) I don’t know where our toothbrush holder is either, and although it irks me every time I brush my teeth that have to get my toothbrush out of my travel kit, I still haven’t made it out to the mass of boxes in the garage to find it. Ugg. Really, that is how I feel. And I guess my stuck in a rut-ness extends far outside of just unpacking.

What do you do when you feel like your attempts to get out of the rut are failing?

My plan… I feel almost as if this is my last-ditch effort to help kick me out of the rut… a party. Two parties actually. My little boy is having a birthday, so we’re going to have just a few friends over for that, and then a house-warming. No date set for the house-warming yet, but the birthday is only 2 weeks away and should give me motivation to clean up, put away, and hopefully finish painting what is still in the middle of the process… wish me luck.

Responses

  1. Those kinds of ruts are no fun. Maybe you won’t believe me, but I think you’re finally getting over the novelty of staying home. You miss Melaleuca. 😛

  2. I have the perfect get our rut free idea. . .go to flylady.net and start with the beginning. Try it out and literally fall the rules on 15 min. at a time and do your unpacking like that, it makes a BIG difference. Also, I have learned that in doing my chores 15 min. at a time, I get to spend more time with Austyn, which is great because we all want to spend more time with our babies! LOVES!

  3. What do I do?? I Pray, Practice, and wait with patience. I have found it works to get me un-stuck in almost all situations. It helps me achieve goals, and overcome obstacles. It can help you too…


Leave a Reply

Categories

