Posted by: Meagan | May 9, 2009

Mother’s Day VS. Mother’s Weekend

I have a friend whose husband is giving her a “Mother’s Weekend” where she is spoiled and gets gifts all weekend. I’m not quite sure how I feel about this. I mean I think it’s a nice jesture, but really who wants to be spoiled by your family for a weekend? She is due with their third child next month, so obviously she can’t turn over soil in the flowerbeds like I did today. But my husband did let me sleep in and took our little boy for the morning, that was nice. I do think the Mother’s Day notion is great, one day, and I’ll tell you why.

1. I get bothered when my husband does my normal duties. I like things done a certain way, and I can handle one day of things not being done like I do them, but I think that a whole weekend is a little much for me.
2. My husband regularly does nice things for me and tells me I’m a great mom and wife so I don’t think I feel the burning desire for a whole weekend.
3. I personally like surprises, so if my husband surprises me in November with flowers or something for being a great wife and mom, I enjoy that more.

However, having an entire weekend has it’s perks, I really enjoyed sleeping in and getting ready at a leisurely pace. And I do enjoy a good break from cooking. Sometimes I just get a little burned out on my own recipes. It is nice to be pampered, but I still maintain that I enjoy it spread out!

Responses

  1. […] Mother's Day VS. Mother's Weekend « Domestic Wonder […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

