Posted by: Meagan | May 26, 2009

Taking a Step

I took a big step today. I have been very unhappy for a while, and I think this step will help me. As many people know, weight is a huge issue in the USA, and I have become a workout DVD owner. I know, I’m sure you all think, but she is so thin and pretty. You’re wrong. Photoshop and multiple angles are wonderful things. I worked out today with the Jillian Michaels – 30 Day Shred DVD.

30 Day Shred

I actually really liked it and my toddler was working out along with me. It was really cute seeing him trying to do butt kicks! It was intense, I was on level 1 and it was intense. I even had to revert to some of the modified techniques which was less of a swing at my ego than I thought it would be. I have the mentality that I have to restart at the basics, which is hard for me to do honestly. I was in extremely good shape back in the day. I think most people have different sections of weight in their lives, mine are: “pre-marriage, pre-baby, and current.” Currently I guess I am within 7 pounds of my “pre-baby” weight, and I would love to get to my “pre-marriage” weight, although I’m not holding my breath for that to be honest. I have 10 pounds between my pre-marriage and pre-baby weights, and I’m shooting for the medium. Sounds like a good, healthy, attainable goal. The actual goal is just to feel good about how I look. I don’t own a scale, never have (just checked myself at the fitness center), but I will know when I have reached my goal just by looking in the mirror.

I was chatting to my friend yesterday, she just had a baby and looks amazing, so we are reporting to each other about our workouts. We both have roughly 15 pound weight loss goals, both stay at home moms, neither of us own scales (thus the “roughly 15 pounds”), we were roommates in college for 2 years so we get along well, and we are honest with each other. I have tried to “report” to other friends, but I feel much more responsible reporting to her, I think that is key. Find a friend that you feel responsible to.

So here I go, taking my first step towards a better self image, and to be honest, I do feel better. My thighs feel like jello from my workout, and I feel great!

Responses

  1. Great start! I just recently began the 30 day shred as well. I’m now on day 6 and feeling pretty good. I was so sore after the first few days, but its much better. I totally understand the prebaby weight, pre marriage weight, ugh. I also want to lose about 15lbs, and I have heard of people having some amazing results. Keep up the good work.

  2. Great job! It’s good to get motivated and then do it. I’m excited to start exercising again.

  3. Congrats! I too recently just started back up on the working out wagon again as of this past Wednesday and started blogging about it. I have a different seriers of DVD’s I will be using but for now its just me and the elliptical glider at least 30 mins at a time. I have cut out Mountain Dew all together so that is one good step I started about 2 months ago and is SOOOOOOOO much easier now to say ‘No Thanks I will have water please’.

    GO YOU! Getting back on track is always a good thing.

  4. Just wait until you have more children! In addition to the pre-marriage and pre-first-baby weight, I have pre-Christian and pre-Kate weight. (I haven’t changed that much, but it’s funny to think about it)
    Great job getting started. Those DVDs do really work because they are hard! You can do it!

  5. Good luck. While I truly believe that how your clothes fit is the best indicator of fitness and size, evidence shows that people who weigh frequently make more progress losing weight. I also believe they are more depressed (like me!) 😛

  6. […] see my other Updates? Click Here for Update 1, and Here for Update 2. If you want to read about my Taking a Step Post from 2009, before I had baby #2, then go for it. That is when I bought the 30 Day Shred and ended […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

