Posted by: Meagan | May 28, 2009

“The Time Traveler’s Wife” By Audrey Niffenegger

The Time Traveler's Wife

*Spoilers*

I am always impressed when people come up with completely original ways of looking at something that has been written and talked about thousands of times. How often have people talked about time travel/time machines? I loved that Henry’s time travel experiences are because of a stutter in his DNA. I don’t think I could have ever thought of something like that. I did enjoy the book overall, it is a fun and fast read. I couldn’t put it down. I did think it was weird that Henry had sex so often, but it is then explained that physical contact helps him stay in the present better. But personally I could have done with less knowledge about Henry and Clare’s sex life.

I thought it ironic that Henry thought his father was dense for not realizing that the man that kept showing up during his (Henry’s) childhood was in fact Henry as an adult, and then Henry didn’t catch that it was his future daughter that kept popping up in his past.

I did wish that we knew more about Alba and if the genetic work Dr. Kendrick was doing helped her to not time travel. I can’t imagine that showing up places naked as an adolescent or adult woman would be fun after a while. But I did think that the ending of the book did fit. At first I didn’t think so because I wanted to know about Alba and Clare after Henry dies, but after thinking about it I decided that ending with Henry visiting Clare for the last time when she is 82 fit well. I do think that there is totally an opening for a second book about Alba if Niffenegger wanted to.

Leave a Reply

Categories

