Posted by: Meagan | June 1, 2009

Crock Pots are Wonderful Things

Crock Pot in Action

I have to say it, I love my crock pot. I don’t use it enough, but I love it. I’m LDS and so church is 3 hours long, plus your commute time and if you have meetings before or after then it’s even longer so by the time you get home you are starving. A wonderful solution? CROCK POT! A one dish meal that you can serve and eat immediately.

My mother didn’t know how to cook when my parents got married, and so throughout my childhood my father would quiz me on recipes, one of the family favorites? Roast, in the crock pot of coarse. So, from memory, a wonderful, yummy roast recipe for your crock pot.

Ingredients:
London Broil Roast
5 potatoes
8 Carrots (peeled and cut)
1/2 an onion
Seasonings
Oil
1 1/2 c. Water
2 beef bouillon cubes
1 chicken bouillon cube

Serves about 5 with leftovers.

First heat oil in a large pan. Season roast with your favorite seasonings, I like McCormick Montreal Steak seasoning and a little pepper. Brown the roast all over in heated oil, place in the bottom of your crock pot. Put bouillon cubes next to roast around the outside where they touch the roast and will also be covered with the water. Slice onion into rings and place on top of roast. Put in sliced and peeled carrots, add water. Try to keep carrots in water, they cook faster that way. Put in cubed potatoes on top of the carrots, I do a rough peel, so that there is some skin still on them but not a lot. Top with some All-Season Salt and parsley, cook on high (or 350 degrees) for 3-4 hours, or on low for 10-12 hours. When carrots are soft, roast is cooked through.

Leftover Ideas:

Roast Burritos, slice up roast into strips, dice potatoes and carrots, heat up in a pan with some hot sauce, put in a tortilla and enjoy.

Roast Beef Sandwiches, slice up roast add some mozzarella or provolone cheese, heat it us. You can even save the broth, warm it up and dunk your sandwich in it.

Responses

  1. Nate loves it too. It’s like you two are related! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

