Posted by: Meagan | June 2, 2009

Zumba Class

Zumba

I not only now own a work out DVD, a friend of mine talked me in to joining a Zumba class at our local community center. At first, to be honest I had no idea what it was. I had heard about it, but just in passing and was totally confused. Zumba is an aerobic workout to Latin music basically. There are a lot of Latin dance moves mixed in with with aerobic moves. If you are listening to some salsa, you’ll have some salsa dancing along with some more aerobic arm movements. It is a fun way to exercise, Latin music is so contagious you can’t help but move your body and if you have an instructor who is energetic it is a blast.

Tonight was my first class, and it was really fun. Our teacher was very energetic, she played several types of Latin music, samba, salsa, meringue, each type with a new routine. She mixed it up well and we definitely got a workout. I was really surprised at the age ranges as well as the sizes of the women there. I think it is awesome that there are some, ahem, grandmas shaking their tushes and wiggling their hips. And I loved that so many people who needed to shed some weight (myself included) were there and they weren’t shy about it. I think we were all so busy keeping up with the steps and once we got those trying to get the hip movement that there was no time to look around and compare yourself to others or feel self conscious. It was really great. I definitely recommend looking up a Zumba class in your area or getting yourself a DVD if that is easier for your schedule. I was surprised how affordable doing a class at the community center was, it was $35, and worked out (pun intended) to $2.50 per class. Pretty cool. I really feel good about spending $2.50 on a 40 minute class that gives me a workout, and makes me healthier. You can also get a Zumba DVD on amazon.com for about $22. Check it out!

Want to learn more about Zumba? Click here for their US site!
Want to buy a DVD? Amazon Listings Here

Responses

  1. Zumba is great. It has became part of our new resolutions. What a beautiful feeling of change. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

