Posted by: Meagan | June 6, 2009

D-Day: June 6, 1944

DDay Cargo Vehicles

June 6, 1944, 160,000 Allied troops landed along a 50-mile stretch of heavily-fortified French coastline to fight Nazi Germany on the beaches of Normandy, France. General Dwight D. Eisenhower called the operation a crusade in which “we will accept nothing less than full victory.” More than 5,000 Ships and 13,000 aircraft supported the D-Day invasion, and by day’s end on June 6, the Allies gained a foot- hold in Normandy. The D-Day cost was high -more than 9,000 Allied Soldiers were killed or wounded — but more than 100,000 Soldiers began the march across Europe to defeat Hitler. US Army Website, D-Day

I watched the US Army Video about D-Day this morning and was so touched, it is the 65th anniversary of D-Day today. I can’t imagine what it must have been like. My grandfather was in the Merchant Marines during WWII, my uncle and two of my brothers have been or are in the military, I have a very strong love and connection to the military and to its importance to this country. I am very patriotic and I suppose that I why I get choked up every 4th of July, our country’s Independence day. I am grateful to live in the United States, and I am proud to be an American.

Last night I was watching ABC’s evening news and a group of D-Day Veterans went to Normandy Beach with a group of college students. One of the young men was talking to a Veteran and said something close to, “If this happened now, would I be able to do the same thing you did?” And the Veteran said, “Of coarse you would, you are an American!” I think it is important to be proud and to teach your children to be proud of the country that you live in. I live in the greatest nation in the world, this country and the freedoms that I have and enjoy are worth fighting for, whether that means joining the Marines or getting out to a voting station, or getting involved with the community, it is all important. And we can all make a difference, if it is a positive or negative difference is up to each of us.

I am grateful for the sacrifice and example the generation of WWII has been. So stalwart and courageous, I hope that I will make them proud. That I can show my appreciation for what they did. So many American lives were shed to liberate other countries. It was a selfless and wonderful act. God Bless America!

Leave a Reply

Categories

