Posted by: Meagan | July 8, 2009

Turning the Big…

birthday cake

Like I’m going to tell YOU how old I am turning this year. Let’s just say it’s a big number, and I’m sad to reach it! This is the first “big” number for me to hit, some people it’s 30, some 25, some 40, some 50, 65, etc. I have a brother whose number was 30, and he’s been telling people for 2 years that he’s 29! Haha.

Turning older is hard! Some people get depressed, which I’m determined not to, although I can say that being around a bunch of family will definitely help in that department, but still, no getting down! Some people make it a huge celebration, some keep it quiet. I am going to try and treat it like every other birthday I’ve had so far, we’ll see how it goes! Any tips or advice for handling a big birthday number?

Also, were you excited to turn the age your birthday date is on? My husband says it never crossed his mind to have an extra special birthday when you turn 24 because your birthday is on the 24th of the month. Am I the only one who thinks about this?

Cake picture link

Responses

  1. This is actually something I’ve been thinking about and talking to others a lot about recently.
    I’m actually really excited to turn 30 next year. Nate said he’s felt physically better in his 30s then he ever did in his 20s. This is partly due to getting in shape for the marathon. That’s been my main motivation to run it, to feel better.
    I felt really crappy in my 20s, just worn down and unmotivated. So I’m excited to finally get to a place where I feel good. But the older you get, the more benefits you get. I know you’re not turning 30 yet, you’re still a youngen 🙂 but when you’re 30 (then 40…) generally that’s a time in your life when you’re done with school, are making more money, and can do more of the things you want.
    Bottom line is, you have to get older. Find something new to do that will make it a special time for you and a landmark occassion. Get a fab makeover, go do something touristy, or learn how to make that gorgeous cake for your bday cake! There’s tons of things you can do to make it a great time, things that you couldn’t do when you were younger! Here’s to getting older!

  2. Turning the year of the date of your birthday is called your “golden year” and it’s supposed to be the best year of your life…everything’s downhill from there! (that’s the mythology I’ve heard). I always feel bad for people born on the first or second day of the month. They won’t really enjoy their golden year. 🙂 I wouldn’t say my 21st year was the best of my life, but it was fun.

    You just have to age gracefully. Which sounds funny because we are both fairly young. 🙂 I’ve decided that I don’t want to be one of those people who never says their age and is in denial about it all. I want to brag about my age and be proud of the journeys I’ve had. I want to say, I’m turning 52 this year and have people be in shock and say “No way! You only look 45!”. To me that is a bigger ego boost than telling people you’re 45 and not having them question it.

    I dunno. Everyone deals with it differently. Good luck and happy day!

    • Haha. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks about the day and birth year! I guess this year will be my “golden year.” I agree with you about not being ashamed of your age. I’m sure on our family blog you’ll hear more than an earful about it! (I just try to limit my personal info on here.)

  3. I guess if your old this year, that makes me old too since we’re almost exactly the same age. And congrats on your golden birthday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

