Posted by: Meagan | August 24, 2009

Salmon, Rice and Veg Dinner

Salmon and Veg Dinner

So yummy-looking isn’t it? And I didn’t even break the bank to do it. I stayed within my normal grocery budget for the week by using veggies we already buy and substituting the chicken I usually get for the week with frozen salmon. So how do you make this fantastic dish? Simple, first you need (this is a recipe for two):

2 pieces of salmon (I just bought the frozen, vacuum bagged salmon at Walmart. It only takes 8 minutes to thaw your fish in luke-warm water)
2 c rice
2 heads of broccoli
2 medium sized carrots
1 lemon
fresh parsley

First, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Start water boiling for rice. Then I sprayed a cookie sheet with Pam, you can use olive oil to help make this a more heart healthy meal. I then shake a little salt over the oil, place the fish on the sheet and then salt and pepper the top. Place fish aside, wash, cut broccoli, place in large pot and fill with water until there is just enough to make the broccoli float. Peel, cut carrots, put in small pot to boil. Put rice in boiling water, and reduce heat to low. Put fish in oven for about 10 minutes or until cooked through. It will take about 10 minutes for broccoli to finish cooking and just a minute or two more for carrots. You can also steam broccoli and carrots if desired.

Once everything is done cooking, plate rice, then surround rice with broccoli, and carrots over the top. (I added some butter and salt and pepper to my veggies.) Place salmon fillet on top, with a generous squeeze of fresh lemon juice. Top with fresh parsley and a slice of lemon. I also put extra lemon on a small plate to add to salmon as I ate. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

Categories

