Posted by: Meagan | August 27, 2009

Taco Soup

Taco Soup

This is my meatless Taco Soup but for those of you (my family) who think you can’t fill up without a heaping helping of meat think again! This soup really fills you up. This is also an amazingly yummy and extremely fast recipe, just come home, dump in the ingredients (all canned) and warm up.

The Goods

Yes I do realize I opened the tomato sauce can upside down, but try and overlook that. All you need in your pantry for a quick meal is what you see here. This will feed about 5 people. My husband and I made quick work of it; both of us had seconds and each took a heaping helping for lunch today finishing it off.

1 can Hominy
1 can Pinto Beans
1 small can Corn
1 small can Green beans
1 small can of Tomato Sauce

Keep in mind you can switch out ingredients that you choose. I know a lot of people like stewed tomatoes, I prefer the sauce, so feel free to switch it up. When I do make this with meat, I brown half a pound of hamburger and add to the mixture along with a little more water.

I put the entire can of Hominy in a pot (liquid included), drained pinto beans, drained corn, drained green beans and the can of tomato sauce. I use the tomato sauce can to add another can of water to the mix.
*Note: When I do make this with meat, I brown half a pound of hamburger and add to the mixture along with a little more water.

Then I add a few shakes of these seasonings:
minced Onion
minced Garlic
Fiesta Brand Fajita Seasoning

Seasonings

Warm on medium-low heat until steamy, stir occasionally. Serve in bowls with chips and cheese. If you are planning on serving with tortilla chips don’t salt the soup, the chips will bring the salt into the dish. Eat up!

Close Up

Responses

  1. I love taco soup. So much. I wish Wayne liked it too so we could have it more often. As it is I only get to make it like twice a year.

  2. Oh wow! This looks amazing! I’m going to have to try it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

