Posted by: Meagan | September 1, 2009

It’s September!

bushel of apples

It is September and do you know what that means? One, it’s time to stock up on birthday cards for friends and family. We seem to have quite a bit of family birthdays between September and February, and seeing how I am now on “restricted physical activity” I need to get a bunch of cards, or make them and have them ready to go so I don’t have to hustle out the door to buy one and then get it in the mail when I’m 8 months pregnant!

September also means that it is technically summer no matter how much I want it to be fall. So soak up the sunshine and warmer weather while it lasts; I’m sure winter will be longer than any of us wish. Did you know that the first official day of autumn is September 22? You can bet I will have a lot of kid activities posted in the fall. I am so excited for apple picking and (light) jackets and I really just love the smell of autumn.

Another thing any homeowners might be doing at the end of September/October depending where you live is getting your lawn ready for the winter. Finishing off the last mow-job, preparing your flowerbeds and maybe planting tulips for the spring.

And one of the best things about September is that this is a wonderful time to get fresh produce! Most farmer’s markets show up in the summer and stick around until the first frost. So look one up near you and do something fun with your fresh produce! Mushrooms, artichokes, fennel, squash, zucchini, leeks, onion, late-season corn, parsnips, elderberries, blackberries and apples are just some of the fruits and vegetables that are prime for picking this month. Yum! Go find this fresh produce and stock up! You can chop and freeze or freeze whole several of these, not to mention drying or canning. After we go apple picking I’ll give you the low-down on drying fruit!

Responses

  1. Great post! I am such a pessimist…I don’t like fall because I know winter is coming and I DREAD winter. Thanks for the reminder of all the fun things to do in the fall, and for motivating me to get excited about it instead of being so grumpy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

