Posted by: Meagan | September 8, 2009

Labor Day Activities

Since Labor Day is unofficially the last day of summer I figured I should do some work in our flowerbed. I spent a lot of time in it this spring, planted a ton on flowers only to have the rabbits eat all my starts. After that I was really sick with morning sickness and it turned into a weed-haven.

Before

I spent some time picking out the majority of the weeds and this is the after shot:

After

I told my husband that the rest were in need of some real muscle strength – something a pregnant lady who’s supposed to be taking it easy just shouldn’t exert. All the weeds I picked were fairly easy to pull, all with shallow roots near the surface. There was just a ton of them! My hamstrings are feeling it this morning!

WrinkleInTime

After my flowerbed exertions I took it easy and read a book. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. I really enjoyed this book although I think the author could have done a lot more with the book. I wont go into details but I think it is a fun and quick read. Yesterday I finished reading The Pearl by John Steinbeck and unless you are into classical literature I wouldn’t really recommend it and this is why; I personally don’t enjoy reading books that tell you how base and evil people are/can be. I know there is a lot of “deep” things you can draw from this book, but I wouldn’t recommend it for pleasure reading.

thepearl

Responses

  1. I remember reading The Pearl in middle school. I didn’t like it either. Very depressing. I’ve never read A Wrinkle in Time. When I was little there was a “rumor” that it was a satanic book, though I don’t believe it now. What in the world would’ve spawned that rumor?

  2. Hmm, I’m not sure. I don’t think it was satanic at all. In the book there is a “dark shadow” that is taking over planets in the universe. And how that dark shadow can be fought by the people on the planet showing love towards each other. They even name Jesus Christ as a valiant fighter of “the darkness.”

  3. […] If you remember my post from last year (I’m sure you all do! ), I was working in my flowerbeds. (If you click on the post you can see the real before picture.) We bought this house last year and […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

