Posted by: Meagan | September 16, 2009

Philadelphia Libraries Closing

philadelphialibrary

I have to say that I am outraged about the state of Pennsylvania completely cutting funding for public libraries for the city of Philadelphia! I feel like that is completely wrong!

From the Free Library of Philadelphia Website:
* All branch and regional library programs, including programs for children and teens, after school programs, computer classes, and programs for adults, will be cancelled
* All Parkway Central Library programs, including children programs, programs to support small businesses and job seekers, computer classes and after school programs, will be cancelled. We are exploring the possibility of relocating the Philadelphia Author Series programs to other non-library facilities.
* All library visits to schools, day care centers, senior centers and other community centers will cease.
* All community meetings at our branch and regional libraries, and the Parkway Central Library, will be cancelled.
* All GED, ABE and ESL programs held at Free Library branches will be discontinued, students should contact their teacher to see if other arrangements are being made.

All after school programs, GED programs, small business classes, computer classes, school and daycare visits canceled! That is incredible. I can’t imagine that a cut of every single library in Philadelphia was necessary. As a citizen of the United States I am shocked that they can do that. And I think there will be a huge backlash from the community after Oct. 2nd when they will all close, and I wouldn’t be surprised if crime rates go up. Philadelphia has some rough areas and with no after school programs, no programs for people to get GEDs or high school equivalent degrees.

I hope that this is only temporary and that the Pennsylvania State Legislature will get their rears in gear and get the budget passed. It seems very un-American not to have public libraries. And as a person who goes to the public library at least twice a month, I don’t know what I would do without the library! I would have to quit my book club because I can’t afford to buy a new book every month, or even every couple of months for that matter. Our library is very busy, I have to plan ahead to go when I know there is a “down time.” I hope that this issue is resolved soon and so the people of Philadelphia can use this valuable resource again.

News Articles:
Huffington Post
Los Angeles Times
OB Rag

image courtesy of the OB Rag

Responses

  1. So I was the one to break the news to Briant about this. He didn’t want to believe me. I actually showed him the libaries’ website. He was totally bummed out. Then a couple hours later he ran over to my desk and shouted to me that they weren’t closing! And on their website, they had just posted an update saying that thanks to letters going to government officials and new funding, they could keep the libraries open and the staff employed. I am so glad. I love libraries. But more than that, the Philadelphia library system was founded by Benjamin Franklin and is older than America itself, so it would be a tragedy to have it shut down, even temporarily.

  2. I’m happy so many people wrote to government officials and new funding became available or was found. It would be so sad to have libraries shut down for an entire city.

  3. […] Philadelphia Libraries Closing […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

