Posted by: Meagan | September 17, 2009

Tator Tot Casserole

Tator tot casserole

Never in my life have I had a desire to eat Tator Tot Casserole but my husband really wanted to eat it this week so I bought tator tots and then called his mom for the recipe. She said she only remembers making it once and her coworker told her how to make it and she never wrote it down. So to the internet I went, looked at a few recipes and made one myself. It ended up being delicious and we will definitely be eating it again, pretty soon I’m sure! This would also be a great dish to make and then freeze for a last minute meal or to take to someone.

Ingredients:
1/2 lb. ground beef (browned, seasoned and drained)
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can water
vegetables
tator tots
Shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:
1. Add cream of chicken soup and can of water to browned ground beef, cook on medium heat until it starts bubbling. (add a little extra seasoning to soup)
2. Pour soup/ground beef into 9×13 casserole dish.
3. Stir in vegetables. I used canned corn and green beans, my mother in law used frozen vegetable mix.
4. Cover mixture with frozen tator tots. I would suggest not putting a lot of tator tots. I thought mine ended up too heavy on the tots. Think of how many potatoes you’d like in a casserole and do that.
5. Cook according to the directions on the tator tot bag.
6. Take out 3 minutes early, add shredded cheese on top and put back in oven for the remaining time.
7. Let cool and eat.

Responses

  1. I have a tator Tot recipe I will email it to you when I get home…I promise you will LOVE it! I bet Ben will really enjoy it and Asher will probably go crazy for it, hehehe!

  2. Put ketchup or barbeque sauce on your serving. YUM!

  3. I’ll have to make this next week. It actually sounds really good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

