Posted by: Meagan | October 7, 2009

Twice Baked Potatoes

Bite of Twice Baked Potatoes

Well last night I decided to do some twice baked potatoes but to add my protein in, and I of course did not have all the normal baked potato ingredients so I improvised. My husband loved it so much he told me I HAD to write it down. So…. here we go.

Ingredients:

2 Medium Potatoes
2 Serving Spoon sized scoops of cottage cheese (instead of sour cream)
Ranch Dressing
Cheddar Cheese
1 Chicken breast
Seasonings

-Bake potatoes in tin foil at 375 for 1 hour.
-Once the potatoes have been in for 45 minutes get out your chicken breast and dice into small cubes – season and cook.

Okay now here is where things went kind of wrong for me but I made the best of it.

-Take potatoes out of the oven (they need to be soft as you push on them; that means they’re done)
-Cut off the top 1/3, scoop out the inside and put in a bowl.

My potatoes where not done enough so scooping them out totally deflated and ruined my potatoes shape. So I put the entire thing in a bowl and mashed them up.

-Mix in cottage cheese and cheddar cheese, a generous squeeze (or about 1/4 c) of Ranch and cooked cubed chicken.
-Scoop back into potato skins.

I put into a 9×9 casserole dish.

-Top with a little extra cheddar, reduce oven heat to 350 and bake for 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

My husband actually said he liked the twice baked potatoes in the casserole dish with everything mixed together more than the traditional twice baked. This was super yummy. Enjoy!

Twice Baked Potatoes

Responses

  1. Interesting. I like the ideas of adding in a extra protein and making it the main dish. However, the texture kinda worries me. Could you tell the cottage cheese was there?

  2. No, the cottage cheese mainly melted in and made it really creamy which was yummy. It’s a nice one-dish type meal. Something you don’t have to use a lot of pans for and I think it’s an ideal dish for using leftover chicken or beef.

  3. OK Meagan….we made this tonite and it was……………………….really good! I love twice baked potatoes if someone else makes them, but they are so time consuming to prepare, that I loved this version, to mix it all up and bake like a casserole. It was really yummy and I actually doubled the recipe, so now I’ve got more for tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I’m so glad you liked it! It’s totally yum.


Leave a Reply

Categories

