Posted by: Meagan | October 12, 2009

Columbus Day

250px-Christopher_Columbus3

In 14-92 Columbus sailed the ocean blue… Happy Columbus Day everyone! Columbus Day is actually known around the Americas by 8 or so different names and some very different meanings. Last night my husband asked me if Columbus Day was a “real” holiday – if he had to go to work this morning. I said that it wasn’t although I learned from Wikipedia that some states in the US do take a federal holiday for Columbus Day.

Freshening up on my Christopher Columbus history I read about him on Wikipedia and I can see why there are both positive and negative opinions of him. I remember Columbus Day best in elementary school where we talked about the Nina, the Pinta and the Santa Maria, and how Columbus got to the Americas. We made hats, drew ships, and pretended to be explorers. I hope you do something fun today to remember the most well known discovery of the Americas.

Responses

  1. For preschool today we talked about the letter O, and the ocean. I wish I would have thought ahead and I totally could have thrown in a lesson about Columbus sailing the ocean. Thanks for the reminder! Maybe I’ll try it next year. And that’s some interesting stuff about Columbus.

  2. Jordan and I both had the day off–all of the banks were closed–but Stan had to go to work, so no fun for him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

