Posted by: Meagan | October 22, 2009

Spice and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Cookies and Milk

I wanted to do a fall-type cookie since we are nearing the end of October and I originally was going to do pumpkin chocolate chip cookies but the store was out of pumpkin pie filling. What to do? I decided to try and experiment and do cake mix cookies with a spice cake mix. It ended up being pretty tasty – if you like spice cake that is. My husband said it’s very “flavorful” so if you aren’t really into spice then these wouldn’t be the cookies for you. I actually really liked them and my favorite way to eat them is to dip them in milk. Normally I don’t dip cookies but these were just begging for it!

Cake Mix Cookie Recipe courtesy of Josie Hatch

2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla (I think for spice cookies you could probably leave out the vanilla… your choice)
2/3 cup shortening
1 package cake mix
1 cup chocolate chips (I love tons of chocolate chips so I put in a whole bag!!)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and cream eggs, vanilla, shortening with half the bag of cake mix.

Creamed

2. Stir in remaining cake mix and chocolate chips. Ball dough onto cookie sheet and cook for 10-15 minutes.

Balled

Responses

  1. Crazy, I just sent you a message on your leaf collage post, hit send, then your cookies showed up! Never mind about sending me the recipe. Would you like me to do a post about them with a link to your blog?

  2. Sure if you’d like to that would be great! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

