Posted by: Meagan | October 27, 2009

Pumpkin Carving

If you haven’t already done it then you probably will in the next few days. We went to the pumpkin patch last week and got 2 pumpkins. One was to be a traditional jack-o-lantern and the other a cookie-cutter pumpkins cut out of a pumpkin. Unfortunately the big pumpkin (20-something pounder) didn’t make it. I discovered it had started rotting on Saturday. 😦 I did try to save it but it was too far gone and all I got was a sick stomach and a house that smelled like rotten pumpkin. So for the smaller pumpkin we did a face on one side and pumpkin cookie cutter on the other. I think it turned out pretty well.

Because most people have made jack-o-lanterns before I’ll just give a quick picture step by step without instructions with just a few comments.

IMG_0213

IMG_0214

IMG_0217

IMG_0223

I always clean the top of the pumpkin so you don’t have pumpkin hanging down by the flame.

IMG_0224

This pumpkin was really thick so I trimmed down the walls.

IMG_0231

Scooping out the insides.

IMG_0233

IMG_0235

Like I mentioned earlier the walls of this pumpkin were super thick, I couldn’t push the cookie cutter through so my wonderful husband did it. But we had to finish getting it out with a knife.

IMG_0236

IMG_0244

By the way, to get the permanent marker off the pumpkin when I was done I used Goo Gone.

IMG_0245

IMG_0247

Tune in tomorrow to see how to dry and roast pumpkin seeds!

Responses

  1. The pumpkins we carved were all rotten, too. I think they got too much rain on the porch. We threw them all away, except the ones that had plastic faces.
    Ours were very thick, too.
    Sigh.
    Cute pumpkin.
    I roasted lots of seeds, too. Favorite was with a little butter/oil, sugar and pumpkin pie spice!


Leave a Reply

Categories

