Posted by: Meagan | October 28, 2009

Pumpkin Seed Drying and Roasting

I think if I hadn’t already tried to save a rotten pumpkin and been totally grossed out by pumpkin insides I would have rummaged through my good-pumpkin’s innards and roasted them. I however only had the stomach to save enough to dry and plant next year in my garden. It is fairly easy process that I hope you do!

1. Pick out seeds from pumpkin innards.

IMG_0250

2. Put in colindar and rinse off innards.

IMG_0252

3. Dry with paper towel.

IMG_0255

4. Leave on paper plate to dry. Be sure to shake these every day or two to ensure they do not get stuck to the plate.

IMG_0258

5. Throw any cracked or moldy seeds away, put the rest of the dried seeds in envelope to plant next year.

If you would like to roast pumpkin seeds:

To roast: take dried pumpkin seeds and toss with oil and or salt and roast in a preheated oven at 250 degrees F for 10 to 15 minutes.

Cook it Quick!

Or a more in-depth recipe that I found is:

Preheat oven to 250°F.

After removing as much pulp as possible from the pumpkin seeds, place the seeds in a colander in the sink and run cold water over them as you work to remove any remaining pulp. When the seeds are clean, drain them and place between two paper towels to dry.

In a large skillet, sauté 2 cups pumpkin seeds, 2 tablespoons butter or 1 1/2 tablespoons peanut or safflower oil and 1 teaspoon salt. (For an interesting flavor variation, try Morton’s Hot Salt or use Seasoned Salt.)

Stir 3 minutes until seeds are well coated with butter.

Spread evenly on a cookie sheet and bake for 30 minutes.

Take a few out to try at this point (watch out-they will be hot so let them cool a bit first!)

Some seeds are larger than others and will take longer to bake.

If necessary, continue to bake 15 minutes longer or until lightly browned.

Place on a paper towel to cool.

Variation: After washing the pumpkin seeds, soak seeds for 1-2 hours in a mixture of 1 quart of water and 1/2 cup kosher salt. Be sure salt has dissolved. Remove seeds from water mixture after soaking and dry. Proceed as above.

From Cooks.com

Responses

  1. We call this in the Philippines as “butong pakwan”. We even have junk foods called “Captain Seed” which is similar to a roasted pumpkin seed, it is made of Watermelon seed though.

  2. Thanks for the information about pumpkin seeds! I tried roasting pumpkin seeds once, but it didn’t work out well. I’ll have to try this recipe.

  3. […] the pumpkin seeds from the innards to plant your own pumpkins next here.  Here’s how to: Pumpkin Seed Drying Posted by ajacopet Filed in Fun! Tags: halloween in san luis Leave a Comment […]

  4. I’ve never made homemade pumpkin seeds before. I may do it and use this recipe if you don’t mind.

  5. YUM. I love roasting pumpkin seeds. I put random spices that I find in my kitchen. My recent batch had salt, garlic salt, and coriander!

  6. […] Pumpkin Seeds Leave a Comment […]

  7. I could eat pumpkin seeds by the truckload. They’re good for you too. 🙂

    As a side note, pumpkin seed oil is good in a green salad. One doesn’t need much of it because it has a fairly strong taste. The oil is wickedly expensive, though. Where I am, it’s around $20 Canadian for half a litre.

  8. Great information! I had no idea how to do that. Thanks!

  9. thanks for being a blogger am new to blogging doing it to get my products,out i went to your site just to read and get an idea what the heck am doing your is beautiful and by looking at yours help me understand blogging a little better have a great day best of luck to you

  10. I usually just let the seeds sit in a 250 degree oven until they seem done. Usually at least 30 minutes, maybe longer. This seems to work for the working lazy.
    I do it when I know I’m goin to around and can check them. you are rigth about the crispyness. Sometimes you just have to wait for the bigger ones. Stirring a couple of times helps too.
    they are SO GOOD! (and cheap–you already bougth the pumkin!)

  11. Thanks for posting this info – and congrats on getting featured by WP.

  12. I’d never heard of sauteeing them in butter before roasting. It sounds wonderful! We’re definitely going to try it.

    Thanks for an informative post 🙂

  13. I am doing this TONIGHT and I’m SO excited! Halloween!!! 🙂

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  14. Looks good. I tried this once and burnt my moms counter top. Ouch!. Thanks for the info.

  15. Yum, pumpkin seeds are delicious and good for you. You can actually roast just about any squash seeds…I like to roast Acorn Squash seeds and then put them on top of my salads.

  16. WE had a great Pumpkin and Rocket salas this week – my first ever – now I have to rustle up a Pumpkin Pie – any good recipes I can try???? ps – I love the blog!

  17. seeds are delicious?? Are you joking? My grandmother had a vegetable garden with pumpkins and she usually cooked them in an oven. yak. I did not like it then and I do not like them now. well, maybe it is very useful but not delicious for sure!

  18. Mmmm, I love doing this at Halloween! 😀
    Butter sounds like a great idea too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

