Posted by: Meagan | November 4, 2009

Halloween Candy Cookies

Halloween Candy Bars

What is there to do with that extra Halloween candy? Well I decided to make cookies out of it. I got the candy bars that were left and added them into my usual chocolate chip cookie recipe, it ended up being really yummy and I have a few tips that will probably help make your cookies even better than mine!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

2 1/4 c flour
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 c butter
1/2 c sugar
3/4 c brown sugar – packed
2 t vanilla
1 egg
1 bag chocolate chips/ 2 cups chopped Halloween Candy bars

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In small mixing bowl combine flour, baking soda and salt – set aside. In large mixing bowl cream butter and sugars until fluffy. Add vanilla and egg, beat well. Add dry ingredients, mix well. Add chocolate chips, mix well. (Personally I add chocolate chips in with the dry ingredients.) Drop about 2″ apart from each other onto un-greased cookie sheets. Bake 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven, place on cooling rack.

Halloween Candy Addition Information

First I mixed up my cookies like normal. Then I chopped up the candy bars. Remember when you chop them up you don’t want them too small.

Chopped Candy Bars

I ended up not using the Baby Ruth bars, and now that I’ve done it I would probably leave the Butterfingers out as well. They basically turned to dust when I chopped them up and then make the cookies stick to the cookie sheet after they were baked. I’d save them for homemade milk shakes instead of cookies. Also, I would suggest (if you can) doubling the amount of candy bars. I ended up add some chocolate chips, but by the end wish I would have added more.

Extra Chocolate Chips

Then I balled up the cookies and baked them. YUM!

IMG_0366

IMG_0369

Responses

  1. Yum! I love throwing all kinds of goodies into chocolate chip cookies! The Butterfingers would be good in peanut butter cookies!
    Your cookies won’t stick to parchment paper. I only bake cookies on parchment now! Try it, it’s worth the investment! 😉

  2. Those sound amazing! I only wish we had halloween candy left over, just for this. In fact this post is enough to make me want to go by a bunch of candy bars to make cookies, and a butterfinger shake to dip them in!

  3. Looks so good! I need to come and stay at your house.

  4. You should! I just make batches of cookies and yummy food and then send them to work with the hubby. His coworkers think I’m awesome, but I’d love to share them with you and the kids! And I need some help putting stuff on the walls. I could use your creative eye, and your practical one, and your crafty one, and I could go on and on. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

