Posted by: Meagan | November 10, 2009

The Big Question

Shopping for Gifts

So when do you start Christmas shopping? And if you have started Christmas shopping can you really do that and not listen to Christmas music?

I officially started buy Christmas gifts last week. They are “hidden” on the top shelf of our office closet. So far I’ve gotten just a few gifts for my little guy. I admitted earlier on this blog that I’ve been listening to Christmas music on and off since August. Normally I’m an “After Thanksgiving” person, but this year I’ve realized that I just love listening to Christmas music. I love the holiday season and listening to Jingle Bells really makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. I’ve also found if I get my shopping done early I don’t feel like I get caught up in gift-buying of Christmas and so I enjoy the true spirit of it. So when do you start shopping? Do you have a “Be Done Shopping By” Date? (Mine is December 8th.) How likely are you to stick to it?

image courtesy of Broadband Finder

Responses

  1. I started shopping early one year (like July). It was bad because I continued to shop right up until Christmas like normal and I spent three times as much money! And I figure we all have a built-in “shop by” date, right? Christmas Eve! I’m usually done a couple days before then but I have been known to rush out on Christmas Eve for that last minute thing. I can’t resist the falling prices the closer we get to Christmas so i actually fare better (financially) if I don’t start shopping until the middle of December. I’m naughty and have very little self-control. 🙂

  2. Haha! Lara you make me laugh. I was done shopping last year by Dec. 10th. But then my dad needed help with his shopping so I spent the rest of the month buying Christmas gifts for him. Maybe that made it easier to stay in our budget and not go out and do more shopping. I have to say that I’m pretty good at staying in budget. But you’re right, it’s not very fun to finish too soon!

  3. I normally wait until last minute, but I started this week actually with my Christmas shopping. I’ve decided when we wait until right before Christmas and we spend a ton of money, then it hurts a lot more than if we do it a little bit at a time. I don’t have a stop by date though, I figure we’ll go right up until Christmas but the bank account won’t be hit so hard at Christmas. I’ve been listening to the Christmas music on the radio since it started playing right after Halloween. I love it I’m ready to start baking all the goodies but I’m forcing myself to wait until after Thanksgiving for that.

  4. I wait until around about December to even start. I always just feel too busy with other things to even think about it. Get me through this Saturday, then Thanksgiving, after that I’ll be able to think a little more about Christmas. While there is certain Christmas music I love, I find it rather annoying that my favorite radio station goes ALL Christmas the day after Halloween until the New Year. Bah humbug me?

  5. We just started on Saturday. We were at Toys R us and there were some deals we couldn’t pass up. Wayne and I are both suckers for toys. Mostly Wayne though, so we are usually shopping up until Christmas eve. I hate to admit this too, but we aren’t very good at sticking to the budget’s we try to set for Christmas. We’re good at budgeting for everything else, but when it comes to Christmas, we’ve just never really stuck to our budget so well. I’m really going to try this year though! Oh wait, we haven’t even talked about what we’re spending this year. I guess that’s the first step huh?


Leave a Reply

Categories

