Posted by: Meagan | November 13, 2009

Pine Cone Ornaments

Pinecone Ornament Red & Gold

The great thing about pine cone ornaments is that you can be as simple or extravagant as you want! These are the supplies I used but feel free to do whatever you want. Spray Glitter would make these a snap or adding sequins would be fun too! Or you can just buy scented pine cones, tie ribbon on them and hang them in your tree without any extra decorating. Mine are cinnamon scented. We’ll have a mix of decorated and non on our tree. These pine cones are great to do during the day for a craft or for family night activity.

Pine Cone Supplies

Supplies:
Pine Cones
Ribbon
Glitter Glue
Pom poms (or sequins, bells or whatever you want)

Tie Ribbon

1. I would suggest putting your ribbon on first. We didn’t do that and were sad when our pine cones were covered in glitter glue and we couldn’t get the ribbons on without dipping them into the glue repeatedly! I also tried to pick out cones that had some stem I could use to tie the ribbon on. If yours don’t, try hot gluing your ribbon on.

Decorate

2. Decorate

3. Let dry. The glitter glue does take a while to dry to have a place prepared that you’ll be able to hang these while they dry.

Here are some pictures of our creations.

Pom pom and glitter

Santa Claus

Frosted

Silver and Red

IMG_0495

Responses

  1. Fun, fun! Love the Santa one. And I love Asher’s with what looks like just a yellow pom pom. đŸ˜‰ I know, I’ll bet there’s more. A two year old and glitter? You are a better woman than I!

  2. Okay, I was sooo going to do the same thing, except instead of buying pinecones I was just going to send Austyn out and let her pick some up from the front and back yards…it seems to be her new favorite hobby…I’m pretty sure we always end up with about 10 by the time our walks are through, so next time, don’t buy any! I can just mail you some! Love the idea…Also, you can dip them in melted wax and coat them, that way you can other scents as well and colors!

  3. We have a pine tree and I debated just picking them up but my husband recently picked them all up and put them in the compost heap! So that idea went out the window!

  4. […] don’t forget the Pine Cone Ornaments! Perfect for a family night […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

