Posted by: Meagan | November 25, 2009

Apple Raspberry Pie

I have this broken up into two parts, the crust and filling. I hope you enjoy and make some yummy pie this Thanksgiving!

Pie Crust -makes a total of 4 pie crusts

Crust Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 cup Crisco
1/2 cup cold water (or Sprite)

Directions:
1. Sift flour add shortening and salt.

2. Cut together.

3. Add cold water a little at a time and mix with fork until dough holds together.
*Don’t overwork dough.
4. Lightly flour counter and rolling pin
5. Take out a handful of dough (about the size of an orange)
6. Coat ball of dough with flour and roll out to thickness of 1/8 in-1/16 in and size of pie pan

7. Put dough in pan, pat in and cut off extra

I found this filling recipe on Allrecipes.com. It was originally a crisp that I converted to a pie and I made just a few changes.

*This filling make for a really big pie. I used my largest pie pan and it was still mounded, this could make 2 smaller pies.

Filling Ingredients:
4 apples
1 cup raspberries
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp flour

Directions

1. Core, peel and slice apples. I used my apple peeler/corer.

2. Put apples, raspberries, brown sugar, and flour in a large bowl and mix together.

3. Pour into pie crust.

4. Add another crust on top, be sure to slice some marks in the top so the juice has somewhere to go.

5. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until crust browns.

Responses

  1. Sprite? I have never heard of doing that. Have you ever tried it? Interesting!
    Have a great Thanksgiving! I just made a cherry/raspberry pie. I smells so good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

