Posted by: Meagan | November 30, 2009

Turkey Pot Pie

Wondering what to do with all those turkey leftovers? I made turkey pot pie and it was wonderful! A recipe my husband said that I had to write down so we could have it again.

*Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Filling Ingredients:
1 can Cream of Chicken Soup
1/2 can milk
2 cups turkey – cut up
1 small can (8oz) corn
1 small can green beans (cut up) (feel free to use your favorite veggies)
1/2 cup cheddar cheese *Note: this is not enough cheese to make the filling taste cheesy but to make the texture creamy and thicker. If you’d like to taste cheese you’ll need to add more.

“Pie” Topping Ingredients:
1 cup Bisquick
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
(This is actually half the normal pancake recipe on the box)

Mix filling ingredients together in a casserole dish until the milk is stirred in completely. In a separate dish mix pie topping. Pour topping over the filling and bake at 400 for 25 minutes or until the top is golden.

Responses

  1. This looks really good. Thanks for sharing. I will have to give it a try with our Christmas turkey leftovers.

  2. I was looking for a good base recipe that I could customize to what crazy leftovers we had from last night’s Thanksgiving Feast & this was THE place to start. I had 1/2 box of pre made pie crust in the fridge,so I didn’t have to mess with a recipe for crust & just did a latice on top. I used 1 carrot & 1 parsnip & then threw in a handful of green beans & mushrooms & a shallot along with the chopped onion just because I wasn’t sure what else to do with them. I threw in 1/2 a white sweet potato. All the other measurements, liquid, ratios, spices etc remained the same. I did have some water that I had boiled my turkey parts in & threw that in there along with the bouillon. I have no imagination when it comes to cooking “off the cuff”…I just wanted to use what I had. All the measurements were right on. I think this was pretty Fool Proof which makes it 5 stars in my house.

  3. This was a wonderful way to use the leftover dark meat from our Thanksgiving turkey! I only made a couple additions to this recipe. I added close to a cup of bias-cut sugar snap peas when sauteeing the veggies, and added only about the equivalent of one carrot because that is what I had. I also had leftover fat-free half & half, so I used that in place of the milk. After it was all combined, I added about 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning and it was just about perfect. I did pre-bake the crust for about ten minutes, then let it cool before adding the slightly cooled filling and it turned out wonderfully.


Leave a Reply

Categories

