Posted by: Meagan | December 17, 2009

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

I have been looking for a Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread recipe for a while, along with the cookie recipe, etc. I found this on Allrecipes.com and we think it’s delicious! The name on the site is Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread, however I would suggest a few changes, they will be after the ingredient list. Overall a delicious and yummy, moist bread that will be a hit. I actually did mini loaves of bread to give out to friends for the holidays. The original recipe says it makes 3 loaves, and it ended up making 8 minis.

Ingredients
* 3 cups white sugar
* 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
* 1 cup vegetable oil
* 2/3 cup water
* 4 eggs
* 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
* 1 tablespoon ground nutmeg
* 2 teaspoons baking soda
* 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
* 1 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips
* 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

I didn’t have mini chocolate chips so I used regular, and did milk chocolate instead of semi sweet. I also put in some extra chips and did not include the walnuts – yuck.

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour three 1 pound size coffee cans, or three 9×5 inch loaf pans.
2. In a large bowl, combine sugar, pumpkin, oil, water, and eggs. Beat until smooth. Blend in flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt. Fold in chocolate chips and nuts. Fill cans 1/2 to 3/4 full.
3. Bake for 1 hour, or until an inserted knife comes out clean. Cool on wire racks before removing from cans or pans.

I used mini loaf pans that were dark. I kept the temperature at 350 and it took about a half hour for them to cook.

Responses

  1. This looks so yummy! I’m going to have to try this recipe very soon to give out and munch on around the house.

  2. Ben and I have already eaten a loaf each! I’m not going to have any to give away at this rate!

  3. Oh well, there is always next year right? haha.

  4. […] and Banana Bread for Ben’s co-workers and my visiting teachees. It was my first time doing Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread and it turned out really yummy. If you’d like the recipe check out my other blog here. Or the […]

  5. The bread was great. They kids even all ate a piece for dinner that night! Thanks, Meagan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

