Posted by: Meagan | December 30, 2009

Rhodes Rolls

Have you heard of these rolls? My husband’s grandma, Jean, loves them and swears by them, along with a college friend of mine, and apparently everyone at Thanksgiving because I went to the store to pick some up and they were completely sold out. Well since I didn’t want to make rolls from scratch for Christmas I bought a bag to try out. They are SO SO good! They are light, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside right out of the oven. And if you made enough there should be leftovers, and they are even delicious for days after. They lose that crisp but stay moist and yummy in the bag.

The down side? TIME! It takes 3-5 hours just to let these rolls raise! Then only 15ish minutes to cook. Is the time worth it? I’d say yes. I suggest making a ton on Saturday or Sunday and bag them for the rest of the week. I don’t know that I’d rush out and get these for a huge holiday bash just because they take up so much counter space for so many hours. But they are super yum and a sure crowd-pleaser.

Responses

  1. That brand does cinnamon rolls that we love! We are actually eating them this morning. There are 6 in a package. You open the plastic, take the paper and frosting out and pop them in the oven for 30-35 minutes. No preheating, no nothing. You even cook them in the foil container they come in. Then you frost them and eat when they’re done cooking. So easy and so yummy. I like them because sometimes for breakfast I don’t really feel like prepping for a big meal and with this there is no prep for a delicious big meal. I’ve never tried these rolls though so I’ll have to try them!

  2. I will admit that those rolls are good, but try my 30 minute rolls. Super easy and homemade/better! đŸ˜‰

  3. Oh yum! That is good to know because I HATE making cinnamon rolls but I LOVE LOVE LOVE to eat them! I’ll have to put those on my list to try! Thanks Liz!


Leave a Reply

Categories

