Posted by: Meagan | January 29, 2010

My Grandma is the Coolest

Seriously. With the recent arrival of another great grandbaby my grandma sent a gift and the brown mailing paper was actually a paper grocery sack. Isn’t that the coolest? Yes she grew up during the depression and has always been thrifty and seriously I would never have thought to use a grocery bag. So there you go, a new use for grocery bags! So next time you need to mail some packages don’t buy the brown craft paper just ask for paper instead of plastic.

Responses

  1. That is a really good idea! I remember when my sister and I were much younger we used the paper bags for wrapping paper. We thought it was cool because we could decorate it however we wanted. We didn’t realize that it was Mom’s way of being thrifty, and recycling.

  2. I worked at Mail Boxes Etc. and apparently some people at the post office don’t like it when you wrap packages in brown bags. We would have to box the wrapped package to send it. BUT you can still do it and if the person working at the post office (or MBE) taking your package doesn’t cry about it, you can do it. I think it’s a great idea, too. And I love getting packages wrapped like that, they seem so traditional and fun.

  3. I remember at your baby shower for Asher people were teasing your grandma about reusing aluminum foil and washing and reusing ziplock bags, and I was thinking, “hey, I do that too.” You might as well.

  4. Funny! Your grandma sounds like my father…
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

