Posted by: Meagan | February 8, 2010

Baby Weight

Me 39.5 weeks pregnant, 9 hours before delivering my baby boy.

Doesn’t losing baby weight stress every woman out? (Even before having a baby?!?) I really wanted to only gain the recommended 25-30 lbs during this pregnancy but yeah… that didn’t happen. 40 lbs later… 🙂

According to babycenter.com a woman loses about 12 lbs after delivering her baby. So that’s 12 lbs down… 28 to go. I’ve been avoiding our scale, thinking that I hadn’t lost much weight so 2 weeks after giving birth I stepped on the scale and was pleasantly surprised… I’ve lost a total of 27 lbs already! Only 13 more to go to get to my prepregnancy weight! I want to lose about 13 more pounds after that, but we’ll take this one step at a time. So maybe some of you think that I’m lying or doing some crazy diet, which doctors do NOT recommend. And I have to say that no, I’m not doing anything crazy or strict. I’m just managing my portions and reducing sugar. But to be honest I’m not going without. Drinking tons of water, because I’m breastfeeding, helps keep me full as well as hydrated. I’m eating smaller, more frequent meals. But definitely not going without! And reducing sugar means more jello, less chocolate!

Responses

  1. I gained a ton with my first two (who comes up with these 25-25 lbs recommendations anyway?? pfffttt): 60 lbs with #1 and 90lbs with #2. I like to remind myself that 1)I’m not Heidi Klum and 2) it took 42 weeks to put the weight on so I’m permitted 42 weeks to take it off 😀

    You’re doing great!

  2. Way to go! And way to go for doing it the smart, healthy way. Your favorite Registered Dietitian approves! Keep up the good work!

  3. I could be wrong, but doesn’t the breastfeeding help to? I mean it burns a lot of calories. Also, your a mommy to 2 little ones now which means you are even more busy than before so that probably helps also.

  4. I’ve learned that sugar is the root of all evil when it comes to weight. 🙂 And i’ve fallen in love with Jell-O sugar free vanilla pudding. Good stuff. Everyone’s body is different, but I’ve learned that my body handles higher fat/lower sugar stuff better than the other way around (since many products up sugar when they lower fat content).

    Oh, and empty carbs. Those have to go too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

