Posted by: Meagan | June 25, 2010

Spinach Basil Pesto

I wanted to try something new. Something I’d never made before and I found this recipe on allrecipes.com and since I had most of the ingredients on hand I made it. Below is basically what I did because I had to modify for  ingredients I didn’t have. For the nuts I used a mix of all the nuts listed.

A little goes a long way with pesto.  So you will most likely have leftovers. I served my pesto with Italian Chicken, and spaghetti noodles. Pesto can also be put on toasted bread for an appetizer or as finger food, used as a dip or on the main dish. There are lots of uses for it.

Spinach Basil Pesto

2 cups baby spinach leaves

2 tablespoons dry basil leaves

1/2 cup toasted pine nuts (or brazil or almonds)

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

2 teaspoons dried minced garlic

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

Combine all ingredients in a food processor until well blended and serve.

*If you don’t have a food processor, then you can use a blender but it is a little tricky. I’d put the nuts and garlic on the bottom, followed by oil, then spinach and lemon juice and the rest.

Leave a Reply

Categories

