Posted by: Meagan | November 12, 2010

Going Batty

So my in-laws asked for our Christmas lists and so I’ve spent part of this morning updating my amazon wish list and as I was looking at bird houses I came across bat boxes and started looking at them and now I want one!

Not only do I want a bat box, but I also requested America’s Neighborhood Bats by Merlin Tuttle from the library. Not really surprising to me that it isn’t currently checked out. 😉 According to the Heath Outdoor Bat House People:

WHY HOUSE BATS: Bats feed on night-flying species of insects such as mosquitoes, corn borers and cutworm moths. While actual number of insects caught varies according to the size of the insects, laboratory studies have shown that a single little brown bat can consume 600 or more mosquitoes in an hour. Bats DO NOT interfere with attracting wild birds.

If this is true then it might just be worth it to get a bat box, free mosquito control! We live next to a drainage ditch so we get our fair share of mosquitoes in the summer and this would make our evening BBQs more pleasurable AND we’d have a fun topic for discussion! And really isn’t this simplifying my life? No more toting around mosquito spray or looking for those torches or weird candles? Ahhh, that’s more like it.

So on my reading list: Great Expectations, Persuasion, and America’s Neighborhood Bats. Sounds like it will be a good couple of weeks!


Responses

  1. What a great idea! We live by the same drainage ditch and the mosquitos/chiggers are horrible. We scratched forever when we moved here. I’m glad for the colder temperatures.

  2. Wow! I didn’t know all that, but now I want a bat house too.

  3. Too bad this WON’T take care of the chiggers. 😉

  4. […] this is a bat… did you know I love bats? (I’m not even being […]

  5. […] amazing tour… a little expensive, but wonderful to see all the formations! And you all know I love bats. We did see one tiny bat in the cave, it may or may not have been real. I didn’t realize […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

