Posted by: Meagan | December 3, 2010

Get it Together Woman!

Sometimes I yell this to myself (in my head). “Get it together Meagan!” I go blog-reading and I think, “whoa I am so lame” and then I say to myself “don’t compare, don’t compare, don’t compare!” So I try not to compare but I do and before long I have to yell at myself again.

For example, my good friend Josie reads 2 books a week, makes clothing for her three adorable children, and some for herself, is making a beautiful (I’m sure), intricate road map blanket for her son for Christmas, doing preschool, crafts, and keeping a pretty clean house (from the pictures I can see), and doing all this on a tight budget. Josie is just one example… I read many blogs by women I relate to and feel like we are in the same stage of life and I think “Wow, what am I doing? Why can’t I do as much as they do?” But then I have to repeat (a little weaker this time) “don’t compare, don’t compare, don’t compare”.

*Sigh* Don’t compare Meagan, don’t compare.

Responses

  1. Just keep in mind, most people put their “best” out there. So what you see isn’t always reality. I might post about the very busy day I had, and then post a picture of a spotless house (that is a picture from last week not that day). Get my point? You don’t always see what it really is.
    I’m sure your doing a great job being mom for your family.

    • 🙂 I know Nina, but really who has time to sew their kid’s clothing? Some people are amazing time managers, I need to work on that.

  2. We must be totally on the same wavelength! Sigh~ I find myself comparing my children and life to other children and people around me. Like wondering when my kids will do this and when will they do that… I need to tell myself to also not compare. It’s definitely not healthy! Sometimes it’s motivation though! Your Josie sounds like my little sister who sews for her two children, makes bread daily and also has time to put together puzzles in an immaculate house!

  3. I agree with Nina that most people put their best out there, so don’t compare.
    I also know that there is a time for everything. Energy, desire, ability, and creativity come in spurts. You have created some amazing things recently that I am really impressed with.

  4. Wanna know a secret? I have to refrain from comparing myself to you all the time. I think you are totally super mom. I am always way impressed with all the activities and fun things you do with your children, how involved you are with church and community…and, on and on. So just remember that. 🙂

    • _You_ are silly Lara, thanks for making me smile. 🙂

  5. […] dear friend Josie was a little upset about my recent post, praising her for her amazingness and wonderfullness and awesomeness, and was sure to give me a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

