Posted by: Meagan | December 15, 2010

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

A de-licious recipe I found on allrecipes.com, I did make some changes (don’t look so shocked) and my husband made me promise I would write this down. This soup is SO good and it is even better the next day. I did have to add a little milk to it to thin it up a bit, but still delicious! The link is to the original recipe and below is the recipe with my changes.

Ingredients:

3 c chicken broth

3 c water

1 beef bouillon cube

2 chicken breasts shredded

minced onion

1 package wild rice

1 cup diced carrots

2 hand fulls of diced spinach

1/2 c flour

1/2 c butter

2 c milk

Directions:

Put broth, water, bouillon, shredded chicken, onion, carrots, spinach and rice minus the seasoning packet in a large pot, on medium heat.

In a sauce pan melt butter, add in seasoning packet,  and whisk in flour and milk in until thick.

Add sauce mixture to broth/chicken/rice continue to cook until thoroughly mixed and heated.

Side Note:

I cooked the chicken in the crock pot for the afternoon along with extra chicken I’ll be shredding and using in some chicken salad sandwiches later this week. Then I trimmed fat and shredded it.

Also putting the wild rice in I thought it wouldn’t be enough but it ended up being the perfect amount, so don’t be impatient and just dump another box in there.

For the broth, I used the broth from the crock pot, which was chicken bouillon and some spices.

Responses

  1. Very nice post.. I know this recipe is yummy


Leave a Reply

Categories

