Posted by: Meagan | January 6, 2011

Cake Balls

For a party we had recently I decided to make cake balls. They turned out amazing!

Cook a cake like you normally would. Let it cool a few minutes then mix the cooked, warm cake into a bowl with a container of frosting of your choice. Roll mixture into bite-sized balls and set on wax paper.

Melt Almond Bark in the microwave 3 bars at a time with 1 teaspoon of crisco for 30 seconds. Stir until smooth. Then dip balls into melted chocolate using a tooth pick and a spoon. Put back on wax paper and when they are done put in fridge for about a half hour before serving.

If you want to cover the outside with candies or crushed cookies you will need to do that immediately after they are dipped in the chocolate.

For my cake balls I used milk chocolate cake mix, cream cheese frosting, chocolate almond bark, and crushed Oreos. I also used some chopped Andes Mints.

Responses

  1. These sound delish! I made some for Christian’s bday and I really didn’t like them. I thought they were WAY too sweet and way too rich. I think I did vanilla cake with vanilla frosting. They were gross. I guess my combo was off because yours sound really good!

    • Mmm these were SO good and everyone loved them at the party! I had people taking them home and asking me for the recipe. They were a little wet in the middle for me so next time I think I’ll do a little less frosting. And I think the Oreos and Andes really made these great.

  2. These sound good to me too. The girls at work think they sound really good too. I think I might just make some tonight so I can bring them to work with me tomorrow for my birthday. Tammy, vanilla cake with vanilla frosting doesn’t sound good at all. You definitely need some other flavor in there to spice it up!

    • Ya, I know, I’m re-living eating them, and they were really gross. I think I actually did yellow cake with vanilla frosting (? still not 100% sure) but it’s because in our house when it’s your birthday, you get to pick what cake/frosting you want and Christian picked the ones with the “coolest” pictures. So the idea is great, I’ll have to try it with better flavors.

  3. My mouth is watering. I think I might just have to do these for Briella’s b-day/Valentines day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

