Posted by: Meagan | January 25, 2011

My Weight-losing Journey: Update 2

Now don’t get all excited and getting your hopes up. No pictures and no weight entry. I’ve decided I’m going to share what I’ve been doing… which really hasn’t been much. I went into my Weight loss with the mindset of, “I’m gonna work out every day and eat exactly what I should and I’ll lose this weight in like 3 months.” Then reality set in. My in laws visited, and my mother in law made delicious chocolate chip cookies, birthday of #2 and birthdays always bring cake and ice cream, my son got sick, I got sick, my other son has been waking up at crazy hours starving and wanting to eat. So needless to say 6:30am hasn’t been the working out time I originally thought. In fact, I haven’t worked out at all. I have shoveled the driveway 3 times which is no small feat. ANYWAY I share this because I think that I along with lots and lots and probably tons of people out there get excited, we don’t do great to start and give up. But don’t worry, I haven’t given up. I decided that I need to moderate and not kill myself with gilt and chocolate if things don’t go as planned.

Old Thought: Work out Monday-Saturday

New Idea: Work out 3 times a week. This is scheduled. I am working out with my husband 2 mornings a week and once by myself. I also play volleyball one night a week on top of this.

Old Thought: Lose tons of weight because I’m going to be awesome and kick my bad habits out on their behinds.

New Idea: Weight Loss goal: 3-5 lbs a month, no freaking out if I don’t lose a lot of weight quickly.

Old Thought: Weigh myself every week, update everyone on my awesome progress.

New Idea: Weigh myself once a month, and update on my awesome progress.

One thing that I have been doing well is reducing portion size. I have found that I absolutely have to use a different bowl to eat cereal and treats from. I also haven’t been eating seconds. If I am hungry later I’ll have a small snack, usually a yogurt and lots of water.

Old Food Bowl next to New Food Bowl


Old Ice Cream Bowl next to New Ice Cream Bowl


Yes I am still eating ice cream. And let me just say that I’ve read that if you have a craving you should just eat a small portion of what you want instead of trying to curb that craving with other food. The reason is if you really want chocolate ice cream, you decide you’ll have yogurt to try to curb that craving, then some almonds because those are healthy, and then you give in and eat ice cream. You might as well have had a small bowl of ice cream to start and not eaten those other calories. Now I’m no expert but from my own experience I’ve found this to be correct.

So there you go, the cold hard truth of my journey thus-far.

Feel free to check out Update 1.

And to end this post I want to share a video I ran across.

Responses

  1. Great job Meagan. I’m glad to hear your update. I’ve been wondering how you were doing. I have similar problems staying on track. I like the idea of downsizing the bowl. I’ll have to try something like that…

  2. You are awesome. I’m so glad you are giving yourself permission to be realistic, as women we often beat ourselves up and are stubborn in sticking to things that simply aren’t right for us. You are doing great! Keep it up!

  3. […] to see my other Updates? Click Here for Update 1, and Here for Update 2. If you want to read about my Taking a Step Post from 2009, before I had baby #2, then go for it. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

