Posted by: Meagan | February 10, 2011

Gussy-up

It has been a while since I have done a crafty thing on here and I hope that you all went and checked out my guest post on Pocket Full of Prose last month, but if you didn’t I thought I would repost it here. I hope you enjoy and hopefully attempt it!

I have seen cute little boy onesies that have ties sewn on them and I have thought over and over about how cute they are. Well I finally did it and it is surprisingly simple! All you need to know sewing-wise is how to sew a (relatively) straight line, and you can match your boy’s onesie to your family’s outfits for family pictures, or just have a cute tie for church, parties, get togethers, etc.

Materials:

Onesie

Fabric for Tie

Thread

Sewing Machine

iron

straight pins

1. Cut out tie.

I have never sewed with a pattern, I’m just weird that way, I eye-ball most of the things I make, along with a rough guide. That being said feel free to find a toddler’s tie or something to go off of. First I cut a rectangle and placed it on the onesie to find out how long I wanted it (be sure and remember to leave allowance for a seam, I did about a half inch). Then I folded the rectangle in half, hot dog style, and cut the shape of the tie out. (Folding it in half keeps the tie symmetrical.)

2. Iron seams

When working with small things it is easiest to iron the seam down so you don’t have to worry about it unfolding and having to rip and restitch.

3. Pin tie to onesie

It is a really good idea to pin the tie so you don’t end up with a cute but crooked tie.

4. Sew

This can be really tricky, especially if you are doing a small onesie. You will probably need to take the storage compartment off your sewing machine so you can move the onesie around in a smaller space (like you would hemming pants). It is easy to accidentally sew the front of the onesie to the back, so take your time, it’s worth it.

5. Try it on!

It’s finished! I hope that you had a great time making a cute onesie AND that you brag to all your friends that you made this adorable outfit!

Responses

  1. That’s way cute Meagan. I might have to try something like this. Wanna know what product I discovered that would make this ten times easier? It’s the iron on pelon stuff. My neighbor gave me a whole role of it so I could just iron stuff onto my sons carmat and it has saved soooo much time and frustration. It’s super easy to use too, and then you can sew over it if you want to because then it looks better I think.

    • What an awesome idea! Thanks! BTW I still need to talk to you about doing a binding!


Leave a Reply

Categories

