Posted by: Meagan | March 8, 2011

Venting Session

WARNING: If you don’t like reading people’s vents then just skip to my post below, it’s new today too, and a little humorous.

So my grandpa is turning 90 this year and my uncle is planning the reunion but now it is just a potluck dinner… do I want to drive 20 hours, pay lots of $$ in food and gas to go to a potluck where I still have to BRING A SIDE DISH? Does that not sound completely ridiculous? No relays, water balloons, skits, no cheesy t-shirts or volleyball games? This is not a reunion, it’s a “if you already live here or already will be visiting then lets get together because turning 90 is no big deal” kind of get together.

I know that my side of the family doesn’t mean to completely disregard the feelings and inconveniences of others because it doesn’t cross their minds. I don’t say this to be rude. It is true. My entire life I have lived away from my aunts and uncles. Only one of the 4 of them has ever come to visit us, and that was because we lived in the same state at that time and were on the way to the rest of the family for them.  The rest have never visited their long lost, black sheep of a brother in his out-of-state home. And I can count on one hand how many times I have heard of those 3 siblings ever leaving the state they live in. If my dad wanted to see them then we had to drive 19 hours. My dad could and should take time off work to visit, but they sure wouldn’t when we came. Ugg.

Why would you plan a potluck of all things? It has been about 7 years since we last had a reunion. Would it kill us all to get together and reconnect? {Shakes fist at nobody}

Responses

  1. I like other people’s venting sessions…it’s the perky, so-thankful-for-everything posts that irritate me. I would be frustrated, too. It does seem like those who live close together don’t understand what it’s like for those who live far away. You should just come visit us instead. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

