Posted by: Meagan | March 31, 2011

A Little Americana in my Life

Well here is my son’s room. A work in progress. I only took a picture of part of the room because the other walls are completely blank. 🙂

Flags seem to be really popular right now and they are really quite easy to make! I did use LolaNova’s tutorial to make the layered flag (it’s in the corner you can’t really see it but the close up I took ended up really blurry.) I think it turned out well though.

I bought the unfinished cork board at Hobby lobby for $13 and stained it myself. The one year old was destroying any artwork the preschooler brought home and I wanted a display area for him. Plus I needed something big enough to cover up our big ugly fuse box. Why they put the fuse box in a bedroom I’ll never know.

I made the red, white and blue Thomas Train pillow case my son is laying on. And found this awesome Pledge of Allegiance plaque on deseretbook.com.

This room isn’t finished yet though. I still have that cowboy vinyl to put up along with some other items, I know you are excited to see how it ends up! I know I am!

P.S. I love this post my friend Lara did on Americans from America!

Responses

  1. Very cute Meagan! I keep thinking I should decorate my kids rooms, but then I don’t. Maybe you can motivate me…

    • You just have find a theme you _want_ to do. I picked Americana because 1) It’s classic/always in style 2) There are tons of decor options so decorating on a budget is much easier 3) It will transition with the boys as they get older. We’ll switch out Thomas Train for something more age appropriate when he’s 12. 🙂

  2. I LOVE the Americana theme. So universal yet you can do so much with it. And thanks for the shout out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

