Posted by: Meagan | April 5, 2011

Another Book for the Month

Besides reading The Nanny Diaries I also added Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption to the book club for this month (and more.)

I got this book for my husband for Christmas after hearing about it on NPR and wow it was amazing. And what I think made it so amazing was that it is a true story of Louis Zamperini, a man who went from juvenile delinquent to Olympian to thriving in military service, to his airplane crashing in open ocean and becaming a POW to the Japanese to his post-war life. It is incredible what his life entailed and what he endured. It is a riveting story and so well told . The research that was involved… I can’t imagine the hours the author put in. Wow.

I put this on as reading from now until August because I’m not sure it is actually in libraries yet, but believe me when I say you might just want to pick up your own copy. I’m glad we did!

Responses

  1. Looks good. I’ll check into it.

  2. I just checked my library and they actually have it, so I put it on hold. My position is number 15. It really must be popular, and I might not get it until August!

  3. I read the Nanny Diaries and thought it was incredibly depressing. It is no wonder the people on Wall Street behave the way they do. A direct result of how they are brought up.

  4. It is pretty sad but it makes me appreciate my lack-luster way of life even more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

