Posted by: Meagan | August 16, 2011

Some Old-Time Wisdom

I saw this on the Pioneer Woman website.

We are all placed here to do something. It is for us and not for others to find out what that something is, and there with all the energy of which we are capable, honestly and prayerfully to be gone about our business.”

This was from a letter a father wrote his daughter 5 generations ago. I loved this and it is truly wisdom to live by. I love digging into the past, reading old letters, looking at old pictures and trying to place myself in my ancestor’s shoes. And having simple reminders to shake me up and set my priorities into the right place.

I’ve been working very hard this summer to be happy with my body. I’ve had an extremely hard time losing weight after baby #2, and you know what? That is okay. Sunday when a lady touched my belly and asked “How are you doing?” I actually just laughed and said, “Good!” Before when someone thought I was pregnant I was so embarrassed and really had to pull myself together quickly and talk myself out of crying right there on the volleyball court. I don’t plan on having this chubby belly forever, but as long as I keep working out and eating well I’ll lose it, eventually. Not to mention there are much more important things in my life then losing weight. I have a good body, I’m not injured or disabled in anyway, I have two little boys to take care of and to teach, a wonderful husband, and opportunities to serve others. I think of Gordon B. Hinckey’s dad telling him to, “Forget yourself and go to work.” I think that is what I need to do, and I finally feel like I am in a place to do it. Sometimes all the work there is to do in life is… overwhelming, but I can do it, each of us can.


Responses

  1. AW! You gave me chills! So true, that’s great perspective that I need to remember, too. That’s funny that you saw that on the Pioneer Woman website…someone just told me about that site yesterday so I just checked it out. Perfect timing!


Leave a comment

Categories