Posted by: Meagan | October 7, 2011

I Spy Bag

I saw this blog post through a friend on Facebook. It is amazing! I have made many of the items on it already, but today I wanted to focus on the “I Spy Bag” totally cute!

The premise is that you sew a bag full of things your kid finds interesting. Provide a quiet, but very entertaining play thing for church, doctor office, travel activity, etc. The thing I love most about projects like these is that you can make them your own!

My “I Spy” bag:

I wanted our bag to be washable so instead of rice and stickers, I used acrylic beads, and old/cheap toys the boys don’t play with anymore, pom poms and novelty buttons.  And I prefer projects to be easy, so I did a rectangle, straight lines only please! No curvy fish to mess up here. Not to mention I love this robot fabric I found a few months ago. Also, instead of shopping around for vinyl pieces I bought a 97 cent pencil bag and cut it up, getting 2 vinyl pieces and making a bag for my boys and a bag for a friend. Also, I reinforced my fabric with medium weight iron-on pellon. I think the pellon will definitely keep my fabric from tearing from vigorous boy play. By the way my preschooler and toddler both LOVE this bag!

Responses

  1. I really need to make a couple of these. I think my boys would love them!

  2. Very cute. I think these make great gifts. For instance, my sister-in-law made us one so now I don’t have to! I love yours though and you seriously go to so much effort with the pellon and waterproofness. I am impressed.

  3. I actually prefer yours! Impressive. 🙂

  4. […] I love all the ideas I found here for some cute activity bags. If you missed my I Spy Bag, be sure and check it out. Today I’m sharing the button […]

  5. […] more ideas on activity bag activities check out my post on I Spy Bags, Button Snakes, or this fun blog post that has been my inspiration to doing activity bags. […]

  6. […] more fun kid’s activity bag ideas check out my Button Snake, Color Matching, I Spy Bag posts along with my inspiration for these, Busy Bag Swap post. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

