Posted by: Meagan | December 29, 2011

50 States Throw Quilt Completed!

Wow-ee! What a project this has been but I did finish it, I got it wrapped, mailed and to my brother in law and sister in law BEFORE Christmas! Wahoo! I am super proud of how it turned out and I’ve decided that some day I will make one for our family! And don’t you worry they loved the blanket. I didn’t take any pictures of the back but it is the same print as the boarder. Without further adieu, here is a slideshow of the final product!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you are wondering what in the world is on this quilt I will list them out.

Map of the states of the USA, Hudson River, Clam, Appalachian Mountains, Peach Tree, Crocodile, Shrimp, Catfish, St. Louis Arch, The Ozarks, Rocky Mountains, Teton Mountains, Idaho Falls LDS Temple, “Y” Mountain, Great Salt Lake, Apple, Red Wood Trees, Sagebrush, Sequoia Cactus, the Mogollon Rim, Arches National Park, Black Hill with a Tepee on top, Igloo, Shark, Sunflower, French Knots in blue and purple representing Bluebonnets, French knots in pink representing the Prairie Rose, Oil Rig, Semi Truck, Corn Stalk, Lake Okeechobee, and volcano… I think that is it. The buttons represent cities they have lived in, with a running red stitch showing the way they traveled from place to place so Christy can add to the blanket as they move through life. (Did I mention I hand-quilted this baby? There are close-ups in the slideshow. So glad I found this blog that posted about Fan Quilting!)

My first post on this project, and my second post on this project, just in case you missed them.

Responses

  1. It looks amazing! Way to go! That whole project just seems incredibly intimidating. Maybe someday I’ll attempt something like this.

  2. That is so cool! I love the french knots, they look great! What an awesome project, way to go!

  3. Thanks. The boarder ended up much busier than I expected… but the embroidery turned out really well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

