Posted by: Meagan | January 19, 2012

Wednesday’s WIP

I stumbled upon a new blog I’m enjoying, The Nerdy Sewist, she embroiders, makes blankets, etc. And apparently each Wednesday she does a WIP: Work In Progress. So I thought I would bring you up to speed on my latest WIP. As you know, I decided to work on the cute saying I found at Grandma Jean’s house.

I bought a frame, 16x20in. Fabric, found a color palette I really like, and got my thread, printed out and taped together (I went into Indesign, made a custom document to the size of my frame, found a font I liked, printed it out, and taped the pages together. Then I traced the saying with a fabric pencil and started to embroider.

I finished embroidering today, and now I have to decide how I’m going to embellish.

I think I want to have a herringbone ladder filler stitch to frame the top and bottom, not wavy like this picture from  , but straight across the fabric.

Then I think I want to sew a fabric bird out of one of these colors (PLEASE leave your opinion of which fabric in the comments) and put it in the bottom left corner with some fun, rossette stitch swirls.

(Rosette Stitch and Herringbone Ladder Filling Stitch Pictures and instructions come from the links above.)

Responses

  1. Wow, that looks great! I’m not sure which fabric I would recommend because I am not good at deciding those kinds of things, but I’ll leave a comment here to cheer you on!

  2. I am so impressed with the embroidery, I think it looks great. I looked at the original picture you posted and I think you should use all 3 fabrics. Do the bird in one, a wing with the other, then a background with the third. They all are gorgeous and look great together. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  3. Gorgeous stitching, and thank you so much for the shout-out to my blog! I highly recommend linking up with WiP over at Freshly Pieced — there are some amazing quilters there and occasionally some embroiderers too! I look forward to getting to know you better via your blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

