Posted by: Meagan | February 9, 2012

All I’m Good For

Warning: This is a bit of a rant.

Recently I had a friend send me a text. She doesn’t text me often so I was a little surprised…

“Wishing u lived here!”

Awww! Feeling a little loved then I proceeded to read,

“Need a babysitter for the days I work, can’t find anyone with openings.”

Ugg. Really? I know she didn’t mean to be rude, but often people say stuff like this to me. Is babysitting all stay at home moms are good for? Now, I do watch a little boy once a week. I get paid pretty well for it and his mother is HIGHLY accommodating to me. At the end of the day I don’t feel like she views me as a convenient babysitter, but as a person who is willing, educated and kind enough to watch her child for her. However, other times I want to scream at people! I do in fact have a brain and I don’t just want to talk about children, sleep schedules or potty training all the time. I graduated from college, started a career, put my husband through college=was the bread-winner for my family. I am hire-able, I have skills, not just mommy skills, but important to the work place kind of skills. I wasn’t laid off from my job or demoted, I wasn’t forced to retire early, I chose to stay home with my kids and that was a very hard choice. I’m not perfect, I often don’t love staying home with my kids, I am a little OCD. I hate messes, often I don’t like watching other peoples kids, and I have a hard time only talking to children all day, and I may be counting down the years until I can get a part-time job while my children are at school. I LOVED the people I worked with. I loved being my own person and having more parts to me than just a mom. So don’t talk to me like all I am good for is watching children!

Responses

  1. I just saw this post. How I lost it in the rest I don’t know. I love this post! I think so many people feel this same way. I went to the check in for my pre-admit appointment at the hospital before I had Rylie and the lady at the hospital registration counters asked what my job is. I told her that I’m a stay at home mom and she said “Ok, unemployed.” I don’t know why but that hurt so bad to hear and I know that’s what it is considered, but I just wanted to yell that it’s the hardest job, but I didn’t say anything. Also, I dealt with a lot of people when I was pregnant with Ben and Sydney wanting to use me as a designated driver. Now I’m not a drinker, but to say that because I’m pregnant I want to drive drunk people around made me feel like people didn’t really want to hang out with me they just wanted to use me.

  2. That is so frustrating Liz! I also want to yell at people, “I am very employed! EVERY DAY I do a zillion different things I am just not paid in money.” Hugs and kisses and I love yous are pretty good payment though. It is hurtful when you feel like people just want to use you, and really that is the point of this post, you pointed it out much more clearly than I did. Be my friend and I will help you out, but use me, and that is no longer a friendship.


Leave a Reply

Categories

