Posted by: Meagan | April 2, 2012

The Cat’s Out of the Bag

A really really long time ago, when I was 18 or so, I was called to be the Relief Society President of my student ward. Which basically means that I was in charge of the spiritual well-being and physical needs of 60-80 young women. Thankfully it was a practice at the time to have an “adviser” someone who had, “been there, done that” so to speak. This lady was Sister Ricks. I loved her, she was wonderful in giving advice but not forcing it, and standing up for me when I felt cornered. Sister Ricks also taught me a wonderful saying, “fake it til you make it.” And honestly this is something I have lived by since, and attribute my getting a job straight out of college with over 80 candidates applying. This is also helpful as a mother! Anyway something I have lived by since. I have been faking it, well trying to fake it as well as I could. I don’t often ask for help, I don’t like asking for help, I do love helping other people though. So I was told by the doctor to take it easy because I’ve been experiencing some cramping, so I was ready to take it easy when a massive wave of nausea and vomiting hit me, like a ton of bricks, so to speak. (I’m pulling out all kinds of phrases today!) And I was fairly incapacitated. This isn’t the first time for this to happen, and I wish it was the last but I doubt it. So long story short, my cramping is still around because throwing up everything I try to drink or eat over the weekend isn’t really the way to one, hydrate yourself, or two, take it easy.

The cat got out of the bag through a series of events, and cancelled activities and my wonderful ward Relief Society Presidency found out what was going on, the president called my husband, informed him that they would bring meals the rest of the week and there was no point in arguing or fighting it. I have never, except the few meals I was brought after having my first two kids, be on the “needs help list.” I’ll be honest, I take pride in muscling through things, and gritting my teeth and doing it. But really I am relieved and grateful. My husband is pretty dang happy to be honest. He is tired of cheese quesadillas, pasta and red sauce and pre-made freezer meals. I don’t blame him, I’m tired of them too. So I’m trying to embrace this relief and not feel guilty. A friend of mine said, “Meagan, you help people all the time, now it’s your turn!” You may think by the negative posts I’ve put up recently that I hate helping people, but I love it. I have been sick, and have been sick for several months. I have a new appreciation for people who are chronically ill, and include them in my prayers because it is hard to be positive when you don’t know the last time you felt well or could go on a walk (without cramping and limping home over the course of an hour) or eat the food you want, etc. So my recent experience along with finding this post entitled, “My birthday was AWESOME!” Has made me think about the effect we have on others. So I hope you take some time to read that post, and do something kind for someone else!

Responses

  1. Wow, that “My birthday was awesome” post was insane. Did she really do all that in one day? With little kids? I don’t think my kids move that quickly. But that’s an awesome idea.

    Good luck to you! Enjoy the meals. Hope you get feeling better soon!

  2. It looks like she did all of it except 2 deliveries in one day. Pretty awesome! I think I want to do that for one of my birthdays. That post totally uplifted me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

