Posted by: Meagan | August 21, 2013

WIP: Heritage Quilt Update #2

Well it’s about time for another Heritage Quilt Update! (You can find update #1 here, and my original post here.) The quilt is coming along really well! I have almost received all the squares from my female relatives and I’m getting really excited to piece it together. I love how different each square is, I’ll outline each square in a plain cloth of some color… blue? yellow? I’m not sure yet. Originally I was thinking I would make a huge Queen sized blanket, but I want this to be more usable, so I’m going to sew it into a large throw quilt to snuggle up with on cold nights, or while watching movies, or reading with the kids. I’ll also be embroidering all the ladies’ names on their individual squares so we will always remember who sewed which square.

IMG_2682

I finally finished two squares, I’ll admit, seeing the amazing squares I’d received was pretty intimidating, my grandma’s square has perfect points. But I finally pulled it out and made my squares, I’ll probably make one more to  help even out the number of squares.

IMG_2680

This is my first ever applique piece. I really love how it turned out! Hopefully my next update will be my finished quilt! I’m already working on piecing the boarder. I’m so excited!

IMG_2707

Leave a Reply

Categories

